Named my Chinese Bike: 麻烦

I recently came up with a name for my new, Chinese-branded motorcycle, a Jincheng 250cc. After going through several difficulties with my bike from the get go involving my battery and rectifier (which you can read about here and here) and then recently having my license plate stolen, I decided upon a very fitting name: 麻烦 or Ma fan which means “trouble; troublesome” in Chinese. It’s typically used as a type of exclamation, such as when something is acting particularly annoying or troublesome, you say something like “很麻烦“ or “what a pain.”

Of course, I knew that buying a motorcycle in China would come with its fair share of difficulties, so it hasn’t come as much of a surprise. But still, doesn’t mean it’s not a pain when these things do crop up!

If you liked this, you might also be interested in:

Buying a Chinese Motorcycle: Jincheng 250cc

A Very Chinese Motorcycle Repair Experience

Video: Riding through the Chinese Countryside

2 Responses to Named my Chinese Bike: 麻烦

  1. Celine says:

    Nice! If you’re absolutely sure that doesn’t mean “turquoise blue”, I just might get that word tattooed somewhere someday.

  2. Bucko says:

    Haha, I think you just might have to!

Leave a Reply

