Moving to China and My New Tattoo

So I’m finally making the move over to China. After my two month trip around the US and then hanging around New York City for a month, my paperwork finally went through and on my to China where I’ll be living for the next couple years.

This or course doesn’t mean I’ll stop my side of the Rubber on Road contributions! I’m looking forward to starting the hunt for a new motorcycle in Beijing (though it will most likely be markably smaller than Eowyn, my HD Dyna Wide Glide which is sitting in storage while I’m away). So make sure to check in to read about buying and riding motorcycles in China while Brent keeps up with the North American side of things.

"I never get lost because I don't know where I'm going"

Also, to commemorate the amazing trip I had from August to October this year, I got a new tattoo. It’s my third and my biggest yet, on my shoulder. It was designed around the quote and motto of our site: “I never get lost because I don’t know where I’m going.” I worked with the artist to have it designed with a Lord of the Rings theme, using the elven script and the White Tree of Gondor as inspirations. It turned out to be particularly appropriate as I got it the day before leaving, 24 hours before I was on a plane to China ready to start the next stage of my life!

3 Responses to Moving to China and My New Tattoo

  1. Theresa says:

    Nice! Good luck to you on this big move!

  2. jim adams says:

    hey, i met you at the hd shop in coos bay, or before you did your wa pct hike. like your website. how did your fork handle the rest of the trip? how was your pct hike? i’ll take some more time and read your site, but wanted to say howdi from wet oregon. i rode this past friday in the sunny coast weather.

  3. Bucko says:

    Hey Jim, yeah I remember. Thanks for checking out the site. The fork ended up handling fine. It was a little tight for the ride up to Portland and then after the hike the guys at Paradise H-D had to do some more adjustments to it, but in the end, it all worked well enough to get me through the 3,600 miles i still had to do!

    The hike portion was absolutely incredible. Washington was beautiful. The only complaint is, as I’m sure you can probably guess, the incessant rain. For probably about half of the month I was out, it was raining, and sometimes really bad.

    Haven’t done much riding since my trip, but I’m looking to getting a bike here in Beijing soon!

Leave a Reply

