Harley Officer Training

This is from my dad, William “Cryovac” Perley, on his trip to Milwaukee for the Harley Officer Training for HOG officers. My dad rides an ’05 H-D Dyna Wide Glide:

I think that Little Al, our Director, said it very well. The second day Thursday April 8 began at 7:30 am in Pennsylvania and ended in Milwaukee, WI at 9:30 pm. Toughest run I’ve ever done. By the time we stopped for gas in Indiana we had been running for over 10 hrs through cold, wind, snow and a little hail. I was shivering from my toe nails to my hair follicles. Al and Rich sent me inside the fast food pavilion and after 15 minutes I was warm enough to be convinced to go the last leg through Chicago and on to Milwaukee. We ended up in a traffic jam in Chicago. Creeping in 1st gear, clutching, braking – you know  the workout. My left thumb hurt the whole next day from hanging on to the handle bar I also had a headache, fro the tension, no doubt. The POT (Primary Officer Training) has been re-named HOT (Harley Officer Training) and although I can’t remember learning anything super-significant, it was quite a production. Alot of Dealer hype. But there were 1200 people attending from all over the world as Al describes and it was fun sitting around tables sharing classes with them. Less than 50 people road their bikes there. We three were among the maniacs.
Anyway, the ride back was a little cold. I still used the heated gear, but the weather was dry but overcast. No more rain, thank God. Rich and I grabbed a motel (with a pool and hot tub) just across the Pennsylvania from Ohio. We had covered 525 mi. and it was starting to get dark. Had a dip in the tub and the pool and found a very nice restaurant for dinner. The final 360 mi back home were a breeze. A very nice day. The only wrinkle was a little oil spit in the area of the oil filter. Never needed to add oil, but it’s at the dealer now to get the problem fixed. No worrys, I’ll have it ship shape for you. That’s about it for the trip. Quite pretty. Interstate 80/90 all the way to Chicago. The forests were cover with a kind of coral pink mist (new growth) with an occasional puff of white from an odd tree, Dogwood or fruit tree maybe. that’s it. Adios

I think that Little Al, our Director, said it very well. The second day Thursday April 8 began at 7:30 am in Pennsylvania and ended in Milwaukee, WI at 9:30 pm. Toughest run I’ve ever done. By the time we stopped for gas in Indiana we had been running for over 10 hrs through cold, wind, snow and a little hail. I was shivering from my toe nails to my hair follicles. Al and Rich sent me inside the fast food pavilion and after 15 minutes I was warm enough to be convinced to go the last leg through Chicago and on to Milwaukee. We ended up in a traffic jam in Chicago. Creeping in 1st gear, clutching, braking – you know  the workout. My left thumb hurt the whole next day from hanging on to the handle bar I also had a headache, fro the tension, no doubt. The POT (Primary Officer Training) has been re-named HOT (Harley Officer Training) and although I can’t remember learning anything super-significant, it was quite a production. Alot of Dealer hype. But there were 1200 people attending from all over the world as Al describes and it was fun sitting around tables sharing classes with them. Less than 50 people road their bikes there. We three were among the maniacs.    Anyway, the ride back was a little cold. I still used the heated gear, but the weather was dry but overcast. No more rain, thank God. Rich and I grabbed a motel (with a pool and hot tub) just across the Pennsylvania from Ohio. We had covered 525 mi. and it was starting to get dark. Had a dip in the tub and the pool and found a very nice restaurant for dinner. The final 360 mi back home were a breeze. A very nice day. The only wrinkle was a little oil spit in the area of the oil filter. Never needed to add oil, but it’s at the dealer now to get the problem fixed. That’s about it for the trip. Quite pretty. Interstate 80/90 all the way to Chicago. The forests were cover with a kind of coral pink mist (new growth) with an occasional puff of white from an odd tree, Dogwood or fruit tree maybe. that’s it. Adios

Leave a Reply

