What tools do you carry on your motorcycle?

When I recently bought my used Kawasaki Vulcan through a private sale, I was amazed to find out the previous owner wasn’t aware of the tool kit located on the bike. These tools can save you from a tight spot, from ruining a day, and quite possibly from an expensive towing bill. Many bikes come with a set of tools but they are often incomplete and need to be supplemented.

For mine, the essentials include a multi-head/swivel screwdriver, a compact set of wrenches, a crescent wrench, a spark plug remover, wheel removal tool, and a flashlight. Depending on the ride, I might take more with me, including a tire plug kit (remember to exercise extreme caution while riding with a patched tire – stay under 40km/h), an assortment of nuts and bolts, motorcycle jumper cables, and some extra fuel line.

Different drivers and different bikes require different tools.

What tools find themselves in your service kit?

About brent
Motorcycles, movies, music, photography, politics. These are a few of my favourite things.

4 Responses to What tools do you carry on your motorcycle?

  1. Stacy says:

    Honestly? A credit card.

    I know my bike well enough to know what kinds of repairs I could handle on the side of the road, and that list is rather small. For instance, while the OEM tool kit contains a spark plug tool, it doesn’t contain the 3″ and 6″ extensions required to reach the plugs down in the cylinder heads. If the FI system borks, that’s not something I have the expertise to fix. Modern bikes are an ever increasing array of electronic and specialized assemblies, and I don’t think I could make a tool kit to cover it all.

    I do carry a Doc Allen’s Versatool (http://www.docallensversatool.com/) and a small collection of allen bits to supplement the OEM kit. (Necessary if I want to have access to the battery compartment, which requires removing the seat!)

    I dread the day I experience a breakdown on a modern bike. So the credit card and a towing membership will have to do.

  2. Bruce says:

    good point depends on the bike old school that are fixable and the ever increasing use of computers as used in cars making it virtually impossible for a self fix so yes the card helps too but remember you cant eat it either

  3. Bucko says:

    My bike actually didn’t come with a tool kit. What I’ve been carrying around for a while is a socket wrench kit (which comes with various screwdriver attachments), spark plug socket, needle nose pliers (I ended up getting that later after being in a tight spot where my regular pliers couldn’t fit), and of course the multi-purpose duct tape, plastic ties, and my handy leatherman multi-tool! I also find it’s good to carry around some sort of charger (I’ve got a trickle charger) if you’ve got the attachment on already in case you get into some problems with your battery.

Leave a Reply

