Do you have a name for your motorcycle?

There is nothing more assuring than discussing your motorcycle and your motorcycle issues with fellow enthusiasts. And when it comes to troubleshooting, I find the most comforting and experienced resource is other riders of the same make/model as your bike. That is one of many reasons I am a constant reader and contributor at the Kawasaki Vulcan motorcycle forum. In fact, it is my homepage!

An interesting topic popped up the other day that I found interesting and humorous, and I thought it would be interesting to hear from Rubber on the Road readers – Do you have a name for your motorcycle? When you get attached to something or someone it is not uncommon for people to give it an affectionate name. Sometimes the name is only used in private, sometimes you have a special name for it when it is not running or causing problems – regardless, I am curious!

My current Kawasaki Vulcan 800 I haven’t named, but my past bikes all had names – “Six Shooter” for my 83 Kawi LTD 440, “Red Molly” for my red 85 Honda Magna 750, “Lady Triumph” for my 03 Triumph America 800.

About brent
Motorcycles, movies, music, photography, politics. These are a few of my favourite things.

8 Responses to Do you have a name for your motorcycle?

  1. Bucko says:

    This has been bothering for nearly a year now! I’m trying desperately to find a name, something that as soon as I hear it I’ll know right away that it’s the perfect name for my 1200XL Custom Sportster. The closest I’ve come so far is “Vera,” a name that I first heard in a Pink Floyd song that really stuck out for me.

    • brent says:

      “Does anybody else in here remember Vera Lynn? Remember how she said that we would meet again some sunny day.”
      Awesome song, and a great (possible) name for the harley!

  2. The closest I’ve come so far is “Vera,” a name that I first heard in a Pink Floyd song that really stuck out for me.

  3. Bucko says:

    I’ve now also had Eowyn for my ’05 H-D Dyna Wide Glide named after the Tolkien character (princess of Rohan and a bad ass woman).

    New bike now though that I have yet to name, my Jincheng 250

  4. brent says:

    I also have a new bike currently without a name – my 1959 AJS Model 16 350cc. Racking my brain trying to think of an apt, significant name …

  5. n8 says:

    i have a white 1200xl sportster, but just barely, lots of customizing. named her “widow maker” after pecos’s bills horse. she even bucked me off the first year i had her. she tried a few more times but we get along mostly now after some rough riding and some quality time spent together over many miles. i did have her in the shop for awhile.. and she seemed to have attitude when i didnt ride her as much.. thats why shes widow maker because im positive she needs all of my attention to keep her happy… its been alittle wintery here lately.. i should probly go reassure her soon.

  6. Redbeard says:

    hillbilly rat

Leave a Reply

