First Video Tutorial: Changing Oil and Oil Filter

My first video tutorial: changing the oil and oil filter on your motorcycle. I shot and edited it myself so you’ll have to excuse the quality. Enjoy!

After searching extensively where to dispose of used motor oil I found this excellent site called Earth 911. You search what you are disposing of and where you are located and it finds the nearest disposal points. This link is for Toronto area motor oil disposal stations, but you can search for your location from their home page.

About brent
Motorcycles, movies, music, photography, politics. These are a few of my favourite things.

6 Responses to First Video Tutorial: Changing Oil and Oil Filter

  1. Bucko says:

    Great post! The Earth 911 link is really useful too. I spent a long time looking for a place with no luck. Ended up taking it to my dealership and they took it off my hands (something they don’t normally do). As for the funnel, they’ve a good one at Canadian Tire, cheap and it has the measurements on the funnel so you can fill it up to the amount you need and then open it up into the oil tank. Word of warning for Sportsters: my manual said something like 3.2 or 3.4 liters of oil when it turns out that’s too much, it’s supposed to be more like 3 liters.

  2. Brent says:

    yeah, my kawasaki vulcan 800 manual calls for 2.9 litres of oil without changing the filter but it actually only takes 2.6 or so litres. that is why the oil level meter on the bike is very handy.
    also, in my experience, those oil filters with the measurements don’t work so well – i got one from Canadian Tire and only used it once. it was actually more of a pain then any help …

    • Bucko says:

      really? mine worked quite well. The only measure on my bike is the actual dipstick though. so before that I just sort of improvised with the measurements on the side of the oil bottles.

      • brent says:

        i pour the full litre bottles in until i need the finer measurement, then i use an old measuring cup. that with a funnel is more than enough i find.

        the funnel from Canadian Tire with the measurements on the side I find the oil flows very slowly through the tube, and it was a real pain to clean.

  3. Bruce says:

    Great video

  4. Pingback: Winter Storage « Rubber on the Road

Leave a Reply

