Grand Junction,CO-Zion National Park,UT (Day 6)

August 22nd
Miles 2011-2410

my off-road parking spot

my off-road parking spot

At 6 in the morning today, I woke up to ATV’s ripping there way around not too far away from my site. Turns out the public land I was camping on was a popular four wheeler site. I kept going in an out of sleep for the next hour or so until my alarm went off and I got a look at the place where I had set up camp, a very scenic meadow surrounded by mountains. I packed up my stuff and headed to the harley dealership.

My Off-Road Campsite

My Off-Road Campsite

As I was winding my through the different back roads of Grand Junction, I started to notice that my rear break had started to come back. It wasn’t completely back to normal, but it wasn’t completely flat either. I decided I should stop by just in case anyway. So after waiting a bit for them to open up, I told them my situation and how it was starting to get better. Turns out, I had gotten an air bubble in my brake fluid when I was coming over the passed in the Rockies and now it was passing through. So crises averted!

I went to the gas station to fill up and when I was in the bathroom to brush my teeth I noticed that my eyes were really bloodshot. I figured that I had probably slightly sunburned my eyes yesterday from those long hours driving into the sun. Good thing I was turning south today.

After not too long of driving, I passed into Utah also a new change of scenery, deserts and canyons. These were really beautiful. The colors and formations just how they look on tv and on postcards. There were lots of scenic overlooks to stop and take pictures so I stopped at a couple but had to make miles to meet my friends so I restrained from the others.

Zion

Zion

The ride to Zion and particularly the road approaching the park was amazing. All the views made me really excited for the weekend of hiking in the parks. I met my friends in zion around 4, just a couple hours after them. After setting up camp we decided to go on a hike up to angel’s landing, about 5 miles roundtrip with amazing views. The views were very as good as promised as we got back after dark. Overall a long and tiring day but rewarding as I had made it to the last leg of the trip to San Diego.

2 Responses to Grand Junction,CO-Zion National Park,UT (Day 6)

  1. Rosario Bustamante says:

    I’m reading your blog!!! jaja, yaaay bonus points for me 🙂

  2. beltenebros says:

    awesome pics, i’m very envious. took a ride on red molly today, what a sweet ride! can’t wait for you to get back so we can ride!

Leave a Reply

